ArcMenu Install Possible?

Is it possible to install this on Budgie 19.10? Do GNOME 3 extensions work on Budgie?

Doug

GNOME 3 extensions are written for one desktop environment only - GNOME Shell.

They will not work for any other desktop.

1 Like

Please see More featured menu @drohm .
I’m trying to work on a menu similar to ArcMenu but am waiting for @fossfreedom’s help as my panel keeps crashing and I have no experience with Vala except for Hello World and a buncha if loops i learned a long time ago

1 Like

Hi, I have also tried to work on a slingshot-like launcher for Budgie, but gave up due to difficulties finding code examples and assistance.

If you use Java or Python and run into coding problems, you just search the web for a while or post a query on stackoverflow and solve it quickly.

With Vala, it’s just a pain in the neck. There are only few, often outdated, examples and even fewer communities or experienced programmers you can ask, and I didn’t have the courage to keep posting every little doubt in the Budgie forum.

I don’t know if there a possibility of doing some community development learning for Vala (Vala for dummies).

I must also admit that I am not a professional programmer.

I am not making a Slingshot clone, but by all means Vala is not a popular language and it has less resources to learn. Therefore instead of coding myself, I am combining Raven’s power strip, the Places applet, and the Budgie Menu applet (all in Vala; wish they were in Python or even C).

If you do know Vala, feel free to help however.

You know what’s ironic? ArcMenu just released a Budgie Menu layout yesterday. Yesterday I got the idea to clone it… :stuck_out_tongue:

Documentation on Vala is actually superb. A good start is here: https://valadoc.org/
Classes, methods, signals, it’s all there.
Many, many examples on all kinds of subjects like https://wiki.gnome.org/Projects/Vala/GTKSample

Where is documentation of Budgie’s Vala API? Also where can you ask for help?