Replace Text Editor system app for different one

This is probably extremely easy to do, but I could not find it.

Current situation:
GEdit is available as “Text Editor” under Applications. It is shown as System app in Software. I cannot remove it.

Desired:
How can I make Pluma (Gedit fork) to launch instead?

Option:
Simply sudo apt-get remove gedit, install Pluma, rename it to Text Editor?

Or will that break things? Just checking as I am not an expert at all…

You can install Pluma through software center. No need to delete Gedit if you do not want to.

Then go to any text file you have and open the context menu. Pick Pluma and press the “set as default”.
All similar files will now be opened with Pluma.

1 Like

I installed Pluma (I want Xed now but not sure about how to install it without getting all X apps, so sticking with Pluma).

it works fine for .txt apps. But for config files, for example if I want to edit a .desktop file, it does not work as expected. I always have to choose “Other Application…”

If I Right-click > Open With … > it only shows GEdit, LibreOffice Writer.

Whatever I do (reset to system defaults, then set PLuma again as default or choose “add to list”), I am unable to get Pluma in that list of “Open With…”.
How to do that?

I also tried renaming it to Text Editor, and naming the old Text Editor to GEdit. Did not help.

To install Xed:
https://launchpad.net/~embrosyn/+archive/ubuntu/xapps doesn’t support 19.10 but is maintained. All you have to do is get the XED deb files.
https://launchpad.net/~embrosyn/+archive/ubuntu/xapps/+packages search xed, click on the latest for disco :smiley:
just download all those debs (the ones for your architecture, -all ones are mandatory regardless of arch) and install them. easiest way: cd to the folder where they’re downloaded and run sudo dpkg -i *.deb (this method is hacky but works. you wont recieve updates, but who cares)

I have been using Geany, for the past few years.
Great apk