Bug report - 18.04 won't install on HP laptop - grub2 install fails

Newbie here - not sure if this is where I report bugs to the Developers?

Tried twice to do clean install of 18.04 on a HP laptop - 14-b029T (reformatted HDD, as I always do, to 4 partitions; namely, /boot, swap, /, /home) . BIOS set to legacy or compatibility mode, and EUFI turned off.

Previously held 17.04.1 (64 bit) which was working well… (well, except it was over quick to pop up a notification of “something went wrong” if an action didn’t happen quickly enough - even it did still work - eg the software site was slow).

The problem is the bootloader, Grub2 fails to install.

The error message is something like "grub-efi-amd64-signed package failed to install into / target / "

It carries on to warn the OS won’t boot.

Tried twice. clean. Fails each time.

Did a clean install of 17.04.1, no problem… working well.

I may be my imagination, but it might be that the iso of 17.04.1 initially installs grub (then grub2 with subsequent updates), but 18.04 tries to install grub 2 straight up.

maybe my lappie just doesn’t like grub2 ?

I’m staying with 17.04.1, updated (but without optional extra NIVIDA, INTEL prop’ drives installed) and let the “dust” settle for a few weeks. I’ll wait for the next 0.1 version to hit the desk.

cheers to all,
ivrel.

Opps
The laptop was 14-b029TU.

ivrel.

Oh. Also it’s a small peeve that the install has the “update as you install” (not the exact wording) greyed out and with no option to un-check it. I’ve previously found it better to do it later. I have had installs fail, in the area I live in, by trying to do too much at the install phase. Just want a successfull basic install to take is my first priority.

Could the Developers allow un-checking of that install option ?

all the best,
ivrel

Please use the live session.

Double click the icon on the desktop to install.

When the installation fails open a terminal then type

ubuntu-bug ubiquity