Folder Sharing between Host(Mac) and Guest(Ubuntu Budgie) in VBox

I am new to Ubuntu Budgie. I have looked at other Distributions such as Ubuntu and TrueOS, but Budgie looks to be what I am looking for. I am running Ubuntu Budgie on my Mac through Oracle’s VBox. The installation was easy and it is working very well. The only problem I have is setting up the VBox Guest-Additions so that I can Cut & Paste and set up a shared folder so that I can access files on my Mac. I have looked at several instructions via YouTube but I have been unsuccessful in getting this working. Does anybody have the correct instructions that I need to follow?
I have set up shared folders inVBox and installed the Guest Additions.

I also need to set up access to my HP printer.

1 Like

After further research I have now managed to set up shared folders and shared clipboard. I have also managed to set up my printer. Everything is now working perfectly.

any chance you can share what you did to get stuff working?

Yes, I will try and put something together and post in the next day or so.

I had used the same/similar process before without success. It looks as though the order that things are done is very important!!

Chris Allman

chrisallman72@icloud.com

This is what I did to get shared folders working:

Setting up shared folders when running Ubuntu Budgie on Oracle’s Virtual Box VM

The following process was developed using instructions from various YouTube sources. They may not be the only or correct way to achieve the desired result, but they worked for me.

The following assumes that Ubuntu Budgie has been successfully installed on Oracles Virtual Box and is working correctly.
Install VBoxLinuxAdditions from the VBoxVM-Divices menu by clicking on “Insert Guest Additions CD Image”.
On Ubuntu Budgie open “Files” and click on VBox_GAs_5.2.8. Click on “Run Software” in the dialogue box and click “Run”.