How to Connect to Windows Networks Shares from Ubuntu budgie Desktop

I am new to ubuntu budgie. I installed ubuntu budgie 19.10 on dell optiplex 7040. I am happy with it. I have a problem, connecting to windows network shares. Could you please help me out.

Wait… where is my crystal ball ?

What did you try so far ?

Do you see your Windows Network Shares in the « network » section of Nemo ( your file explorer ), in its left panel ?

Thanks a lot for your help. This is a picture that I go so far.

hope you can help me. Thanks.

after that I can not see any computer in windows network.

sorry if my question will seem idiot, but … do you have anything shared on Windows machine? I don’t think that - unless you have configured it in regedit - nemo (or nautilus) could be able to see administrative shares …

Sil

You may have to install nemo-share and then mount the windows network which I am not familiar with. sudo apt install nemo-share

Admin shares are usually prefixed with a $ and are hidden from browsing. You need to know the share name and manually enter it in.

If I remember correctly - nemo-share is actually an extension to share a folder FROM your Ubuntu Budgie install. Not access a share on another computer.

What happens if you open Nemo, and then press the toggle location button (1), and then enter the path to your share (2) manually?

There is nothing extra you generally have to do. Can any other machines access the same Windows share? Are the Windows share configured properly and with permissions for the client to see the share? The other consideration is " Access Based Enumeration". (Hides a folder/file if you do not have permissions to it). The one part I am not clear on is if current versions of the Samba client support ABE from a Windows share. I know you can set it on a Samba Server and leverage the feature on a Samba client.

Note - If not aware, Samba is the software on Linux that implements the Windows file share features.