Japanese no longer working

Hello

I installed UB a while ago and I like it a lot (as I couldn’t get Solus to work on my new hard drive). Back then everything worked fine, but now I’ve noticed that my Japanese setup no longer works. I’m using ibus and mozc, but now it doesn’t show an icon for changing alphabets when choosing Japanese language. I was able to get it to appear by typing “ibus-daemon -drx” in the terminal, but even though I can change to Hiragana etc it still writes in latin. More specifically in Swedish.

I have been using Linux for several years, but am in no way an expert. I have always had problems with getting Japanese to work (why oh why must it be so damn complicated? If one wants Japanese, don’t first give them a crapload of non working options, just use one that bloody works and stick to it!) but at least it worked on Manjaro. It didn’t work on Elementary either actually.

Anyway, I need Japanese to work so any suggestions are welcome.

What version of UB are you using?

18.04 LTS. I forgot to mention that.

Have you got the application indicator applet and the system tray applets added to your panel?

Think mozc icon displays on one of those applets.

No. How do I do that?

Open budgie desktop settings from the menu - click on your panel and check the list of applets displayed.

If they are not on your panel - click the + button to add applets.

I’m not exactly sure what to look for, but I have got the Keyboard layout indicator there. That got Japanese to work in the beginning. Now it just let you chose between languages the same way the language chooser does.

Have you got those two applets in your panel?

Yes, they are both there.

Does pressing Super + Space switch between keyboard layouts?