New to Budgie and working with applets

Hi. I am new to Budgie and this forum. Installed and used Budgie for some time now. I cannot figure out how to work with applets and the side bar. Is there a FAQ on this?

Thanks!

1 Like

To clarify … do you mean how to install and configure applets … or do you mean how to develop new applets?

I found how to install, but cannot find a menu to configure the applets.

From the menu search for budgie desktop settings. Click on the panel in the left pane. Then click on the applet. If the applet is configurable you will see applet settings to change.

E.g. this Q&A for the desktop clock

Ok, thanks. So all the panel items are configured by adding/removing and changing by the desktop settings. Unfortunately not easy to find via Budgie Applets or Budgie Welcome.

It’s in bold text right at the top of the budgie applets screen.

Is there a better way to highlight this “how to”?

I do not see any bold text there?

Budgie%20Welcome_120

I am Dutch and have the Dutch version of Budgie. In Budget Applets there is bold text to go to Raven. but in the Dutch language Budgie version “Raven” is not available in the menu search. Raven is called “Budgie Bureaublad Instellingen” in the menu. So the translation from Raven to Budgie Bureaublad Instellingen is the solution.

I know now :slight_smile:

1 Like

Ah. That explains it. Could you please fix this by updating the translation?

@anon90456597 Waitwait something is wrong here: “Budgie Bureaublad Instellingen” in Dutch = Budgie Settings!, not Raven. This is Raven:

afbeelding

Raven is called by pressing the button on the panel - top right:

afbeelding

… and is also in Dutch called Raven:

afbeelding

I will do nothing until somebody clarifies the situation. Budgie settings I understand. And the side bar is called Raven. But “Open Raven-Budgie configuratie-Paneel om applets toe te voegen” is still a mystery for me. There is no way you can get into settings there as far as I can see.