Vinegar and sugar

New user. Just installed Budgie 18.n.n. yesterday. Here’s my penn’oth.

First some vinegar, then some sugar.

I bought a new fast laptop to do some coding projects as I write Android custom roms as a hobby. I bought a Windows laptop but will install Linux Mint when it arrives. I have always used Linux Mint ever since I started programming. But that meant I now had an old slower laptop and wanted to try something new on it so I considered Ubuntu. I dislike the official Canoncial Ubuntu (I mention Amazon and say no more) and Ubuntu Touch deserved much, much better support but that’s water under the bridge - anyway, I wanted to try an Ubuntu distro. I discovered Ubuntu Budgie yesterday and decided to give it a try after reading a few positive reviews.

I liked the purple/blue abstract themes as screenshots - saw them in the reviews and it tempted me to download and install Budgie (although the cute name was a bigger draw) - but as soon as I started actually using Budgie as a laptop rather than just looking at it as a pretty picture or aesthetic concept - it grew stale very fast. I cannot work in mess. I cannot work with a ‘busy’ desktop in reality or on my laptop. I could not work with either the art wallpapers of the photographic wallpapers.

First change - I moved the left-hand dock to the bottom left, disabled movement, made the background transparent and tried to stop the darn thing annoying me with constant moving about. I have not found a use for the right-hand sliding menu but I guess I might. Not sure why some things are in the right-hand area and other in the top menu. It seems arbitrary. I would move the note app from the top to to the right, for example. Maybe there is a way to swap stuff around but I have not found it yet.