Audacious 3.10 and Winamp Skins

Hello everyone; I’m a very recent Ubuntu Budgie 18.04 user. Only been using it about a week, but other than a quirk here or there (ie - backgrounds in slick greeter), I’m really enjoying it.

I migrated to Budgie after finding Solus, but not liking the package-manager; prior to Budgie, I was running Ubuntu 14.04 (for several years) - I ended up breaking that system with too many modifications, and it was time to move on.

Just for the purposes of this discussion: I am not a Linux or Unix newbie; I first touched Unix back in 1992 or so (AIX on an IBM RS/6000) - my first Linux was Monkey Linux on an old 386 laptop with 6 Mb of RAM (had to remove a stick to fit a custom built battery in it). Then I moved to Turbo Linux 2.0, then RH 5.2, then SuSE, flirted with Mandrake, yada yada.

I have been a professional software engineer since 1992, and programming in one language or another since 1984 or thereabouts. In short - I am not a newbie.

So - my issue. I recently (30 minutes ago) installed Audacious 3.10 (via the Web Upd8 PPA - http://www.webupd8.org/); actually upgraded from the version in Budgie Ubuntu (trying to fix my issue).

My problem is that when I switch to use “WinAmp” skins, the player window disappears - but the settings window remains, and the music keeps playing. I can switch back to the GTK interface, and the window will re-appear. As far as I can tell, the skins are all installed properly and have full read permissions (user/group of root, rw-r–r-- permissions for all the files). Running from the terminal, I don’t get any errors - not on startup, nor on switching the interface between the WinAmp skins and the GTK interface.

I have not checked any other logs.

I am running the nvidia-390 proprietary driver on a GTX 750 ti - AMD cpu, 8 Gb, etc. If more details are needed, let me know.