Can´t drag and drop

Hello, I can’t drag and drop. In windows, I usually just drag and drop files (docs, pdf, pictures) to emails to share the files as attachments. I also do this in wassap; I just drag and drop files to share.

Now, I am new to Linux and budgie, and can’t do this. In wassap (browser version), nothing happens at all. In gmail, is the same. I have tried other browsers, Firefox, Brave, Chrome and other applications Gmail, Outlook and wassap. It doesn´t work in Google Drive either. Drag and drop files is not possible.

I have to attach the files by clicking “add” or “attach” in the corresponding application, browsing the directory and then clicking the file. This is very frustrating and cumbersome.

Please keep in mind that at best I am a “newbie”. I am new to Linux, and even simple things are very hard for me. So I would appreciate a step-by-step solution “idiot proof” if possible. I know it’s too much to ask, but I would appreciate the help.

Maybe this info helps:
Host: 81YM IdeaPad 5 14ARE05
Kernel: 6.2.0-37-generic
Uptime: 23 mins
Packages: 1923 (dpkg), 27 (flatpak), 13 (snap)
Shell: bash 5.1.16
Resolution: 3072x1728
DE: Budgie 10.6.1
WM: Mutter(Budgie)

I have no idea why you cannot drag and drop.

For me, using firefox - I can compose a new message. Then from the file manager I can drag and drop onto the draft message.

Note - I use a touchpad.

If you open a terminal (tilix) and copy and paste the following what is the value returned in the terminal?

gsettings get org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad tap-and-drag

Thanks for the help.
-After pasting the command you suggested, the returned value is: “true”
-I use a mouse, but also tried with the touchpad and I still have the same problem. However, the right click has never worked either with my touchpad. I don’t know if that has anything to do with it.