Help with fan control and keyboard

Hello, I decided to give new life to a very old MacBook 2008 aluminium. I am new to Ubuntu Budgie and I would like some advice, please. The fan at some point started working continuously (much more than what it does under Mac OS El Capitain), and also the laptop feels warm. I installed macfanctld but didn’t see any difference. Also I couldn’t find a way to change the keyboard layout to MacBook. Any advices, please? Thank you.
PS Ubuntu Budgie looks fantastic!

Hi and welcome!

2008 is much older than the minimum specification we recommend … 5 to 10 years old

What is the spec in terms of memory and processor etc for this early macbook?

Hello, thank you for replying so fast!

There was a recent blog of someone installing Budgie on the same laptop as mine and it was well supported. Unfortunately it was not giving many details. Only now I realised that the hardware specs are much lower than you require!

The model is called MacBook Aluminium 2008 (Unibody). It has an Intel Core 2 Duo @2.40 GHz, 64-bit architecture, 4GB memory and an Nvidia Graphics card. it also has a 120GB SSD drive.

Ubuntu Budgie loads fine, but I am unsure how to check that the fun controller does its job; it feels warmer than when I run Mac OS El Capitain (the latest MacOS version supported by the laptop), the fun is on more frequently. I tried sudo “apt-get install mbpfan”, but the system cannot find (unable to locate package) it so I assume fan speed is controlled in a different way. The keyboard layout that the system finds doesn’t correspond to a Mac, and I can’t see how to change it. I tried to google, of course, and to add another keyboard, but could not find anything appropriate. Unfortunately, I don’t understand well the system (or linux as a matter of fact, though I can follow command line instructions). If there is any tutorial for guidance I would appreciate pointing it out to me.