Mounting synology NAS shares to Budgie

I’ve been trying to switch to budgie without any luck. Im fairly new to using Linux and could use some help.I’ve been using pop_os! for awhile and I’ve been able to mount my synology nas and use it with Plex with out much problem . For whatever reason when I follow this guide I’ve found (Mounting a Synology NAS Share in Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS using NFS | Accept Defaults) it mounts but Plex can’t see the NFS folder . I’m not sure why it only works in pop but not on any other flavor of Ubuntu or any other distro that has an Ubuntu base such as elementary or Ubuntu budgie. I use Plex and I need my Plex server to be able to see my NFS folder. My only guess and I could be totally wrong is how budgie handles permissions Help please id really like to understand where I’m going wrong as I really like to switch to budgie. Thanks

Hello @Finishure and thank you for testing out Budgie.

First thing, I believe there should not be a huge difficulty to get it to work. Why? pop_os! is based on Ubuntu, both use Gnome. Ubuntu Budgie uses the Budgie DE but it is also a GTK based DE which shares a lot of the Gnome stack, even if it does not use the Gnome Shell.

NFS is very much the standard file sharing protocol for Linux. It is old, and very reliable. I have been using it for many years and I never had any issue. Well, after I managed to set it up the right way. That can be a bit of a challenge at first.

First make sure you install NFS utilities and reboot: sudo apt install nfs-common

The guide you are following looks good. Mounting the NFS via fstab means it will become a permanent share on your system, and will also be considered as a local folder by your software, so I don’t see how Plex cannot see it. Please make sure you are not using a Flatpak or Snap version of Plex as it might create a bit more complications and if you can stick to a .deb it will be easier for you at this stage.