Home Store Blog

Mouse forward and back buttons configuration

I am new to ubuntu and after tested out many distros, I picked budgie. I like it so far but not having page forward and backward buttons is quite inconvenient.
Few pages suggested adding few lines in the xorg.conf file or install xautomation/xbindings to map he buttons but I cannot even have a xorg.cong file in etc/X11.
I cannot create a new file there, maybe need special permissions.

Please help. thanks a lot.

Hi and welcome

I am not familiar with the functionality you are describing.

Is this the forward and back buttons in your browser? Which browser?

Sorry for my poor description. English is not my mother tongue.

I have a 5 buttons mouse, left right scroll and 2 extra ones on the side.
In windows, when i press the these 2 buttons with my thumb, I can go back to previous pages with just one click.

this is one of the sites that I mentioned before.

Setting Forward And Back Buttons

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MouseCustomizations

I hope yo can understand what I mean.

thanks for your reply!

You can try with xbindkeys

sudo apt install xbindkeys xbindkeys-config

xbindkeys-config is actually a GTK+ Configure program for xbindkeys so you should find it in your Budgie menu.

thank you, I just installed xbindkeys and xbindkeys-config, but I am not able to find it in my menu. Do i have to activate it first?

I hope budgie team can include similar functions in future builds. It would make things for other linux newbies to convert from other OS systems.

Try this tutorial https://medium.com/@Aenon/bind-mouse-buttons-to-keys-or-scripts-under-linux-with-xbindkeys-and-xvkbd-7e6e6fcf4cba

PS You can launch xbindkeys-config from terminal but I just realized it is the ugliest thing I’ve ever seen on Linux :scream:

I have seen this tutorial before I came here.

my problem.
1) yaourt is for Arch Linux, I installed xbindkeys using sudo apt-get install… command.