Slideshow backgrounds « regular » method?

Hi,

I have some « slideshows » for background desktop ready to go.

Those were made with :
⋅ pictures in ~/.local/share/backgrounds/
⋅ the descriptive sequence, durations and transitions in an .xml file in ~/.local/share/backgrounds/contest/
⋅ and the whole description of the set in ~/.local/share/gnome-background-properties/

And they work - on some DE but it seems not in Budgie. I can set them but they won’t show.

I know there is Wallstreet applet but those slideshows require a soft and slow ( blended ) transition and should not prevent from displaying icons on desktop.

Maybe I looked at the wrong place in dconf-editor

The deprecated gnome wallpaper XML switcher stuff was never implemented in budgie’s background handling routine.

I seem to remember recently gnome devs brought up this matter recently since they wanted to remove this old code. Not sure where that discussion eventually concluded or whether it is ongoing.

So rather than use stuff that is deemed ‘dead’ I would dare to suggest look to using/enhancing current supported solutions.

That sounds wise, but what are the « current » solution(s) which allow both :
⋅ icons on desktop
⋅ « soft » transitions between pictures ?

The deprecated stuff Budgie decided not to handle is still working in « regular » Ubuntu 22.04 and used elsewhere How to add dynamic wallpapers to Gnome settings / Change backgrounds? - General Help - Zorin Forum

Wallstreet doesnt interfere with desktop icons

OK.

Where does it store its settings ?

Let’s say I need transition between pictures to last an hour long, is it possible ?

Yep … switchinterval

Mmm. I guessed it was in dconf-editor and already checked. And nope, these are not the droids I’m looking for.

I meant the transition ( the fading, blending ) between two images - which seems about one or two seconds and much too fast for what I want to do.

Not the time length between one image and the following.