What brought you over to ubuntu budgie and linux in general?

I’m curious about what brought any of you to this distribution. I started to use linux because of windows 11 but am still keeping a dualboot in case i need anything that requires windows. My old laptop with 2gb of ram is running fine with linux. My reason for converting my old laptop is that windows straight up refused to detect drivers for that particular device. What brought you over?

Simplicity, and no hidden & complicated menus.
Elegance comes second.
And it is faster than Windows !!
: D

1 Like

I’ve been using Linux since the 1990’s. Back then I just liked alternate operating systems. I also had a computer running OS2. Every time I see a Windows computer I get very frustrated. I hate the Windows desktop, and I don’t trust it with viruses.

I’ve run most desktop environments. When I bought my System76 computer, it came with Ubuntu installed, which I liked because it interfaced well with my ultra-wide monitor and Ubuntu was the only distro that has the System76 drivers. However, I’ve not been known to be an Ubuntu fan in the past, and preferred to run Arch, Gentoo and a million others. To get Gnome the way I like I usually have to install a bunch of Gnome shell extensions.

I noticed that when I ran Ubuntu-Budgie inside Boxes it seemed to run well, and I see there’s been a lot of improvements and refinements of Budgie since the days I ran Solus. So recently I backed up the whole hard drive onto a terrabyte flash drive and installed Ubuntu Budgie for real.

Now it’s my daily driver.

I like it. There is one feature I wish I could get it to do, which is when you get to the last virtual desktop, you should be able to cycle back to the first. It annoys me that I have to go backwards to get to the first desktop rather than just go right after the last one to skip to the first.